Photo via Express Newspapers /Getty Images
Photo via Express Newspapers /Getty Images

A small selection of hard-working journalists, writers, and artists were just awarded what’s perhaps the biggest honor of their careers: the Pulitzer Prize.

On Monday, the Pulitzer Prize Board at Columbia University’s School of Journalism in New York gathered to announce this year’s winners and finalists across the 22 journalism and letters, drama, and music categories. You may be most familiar with winner Aretha Franklin. The Queen of Soul received a Special Citation for her landmark contributions to American music and culture. Other winners included The Overstory by Richard Powers (Fiction), the play Fairview penned by Jackie Sibblies Drury (Drama), and Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom by David W. Blight (History).

For the full story, visit

 286 total views

Similar Posts