08.16.2018

Sac Cultural Hub Media ACTION ALERT - Legislative Meeting Aug 28

Sac Cultural Hub Media ACTION ALERT - Legislative Meeting Aug 28

SAC CULTURAL HUB MEDIA COMPANY ACTION ALERT!

City of Sacramento Law and Legislation Meeting
City Hall Council Chamber, 915 I St., 1st Floor
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
3:00 PM

At the City of Sacramento Law and Legislation meeting on 7/24/18, Code Enforcement staff and a number of Tobacco Control Coalition (TCC) members presented recommended changes to the existing Tobacco Retail License (TRL) to strengthen enforcement of the TRL program and limit exposure of vulnerable communities to tobacco.

The upcoming meeting will include further discussion on the following proposed amendments to the TRL ordinance and other parts of the municipal code as necessary:

  • Prohibit the sale of flavored tobacco products, including menthol cigarettes, little cigars, blunt wrappers, electronic smoking devices and e-juice.
  • Require a minimum pack size of 20 for little cigars, cigarillos and blunt wrappers.
  • Increase legal age to purchase to 21 years to align with state law.
  • Close loopholes of current “buffer zone” ordinance (1,000 feet) and prohibit tobacco retailers from operating within 500 feet of each other.

Please wear white and join us at the meeting.  Contact your city councilmember to let them know what you think about stronger tobacco retail regulations.

We need YOU to call, email or write your city council member and tell them to protect kids and the Black community from predatory marketing of tobacco and vape companies!

  • District 1 - Angelique Ashby > aashby@cityofsacramento.org
  • District 2 - Allen Warren > awarren@cityofsacramento.org
  • District 3 - Jeff Harris > jsharris@cityofsacramento.org
  • District 4 - Steve Hansen > SHansen@cityofsacramento.org
  • District 5 - Jay Schenirer > jschenirer@cityofsacramento.org
  • District 6 - Eric Guerra > eguerra@cityofsacramento.org
  • District 7 - Rick Jennings, II > rjennings@cityofsacramento.org
  • District 8 - Larry Carr > lcarr@cityofsacramento.org

If you are interested in making public comment to ban menthol and flavored tobacco products please call Sac Hub at (916) 234-3589.

For more information visit these websites below:

www.tobaccofreekids.org
www.nomoreflavoredtobacco.org
www.savingblacklives.org

THE HUB's Exclusive e-blast ad dated 08-16-2018