Nicki Minaj and Rihanna lead the 2012 American Music Award nominations, which were officially announced yesterday.

Minaj and Rihanna reportedly both lead this year with four nominations individually, while Drake, Justin Bieber, Maroon 5, One Direction and Usher follow with three nominations each and Carrie Underwood, Chris Brown, fun., Gotye, J.Cole, Katy Perry, Kelly Clarkson, Luke Bryan and Pitbull collected two nominations.

This year’s 2012 Artist of the Year nominees are Justin Bieber, Drake, Maroon 5, Katy Perry and Rihanna. This year also marks the creation of the new Electronic Dance Music Category. Nominees include David Guetta, Calvin Harris and Skrillex.

For the sixth year, winners will be determined by online voting that starts today. Fans can vote at the Coca-Cola AMA voting website,, as well as Artists will be honored in the categories of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative, Adult Contemporary, Latin, Contemporary Inspirational and — for the first year ever — Electronic Dance Music.

The 40th Anniversary American Music Awards will take place Sunday, November 18 at 8pm on ABC.

Click here to view the full list of nominees.


Similar Posts