Music for Families continues on April 9 with “The Planets” featuring the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra conducted by Daniel Stewart and concludes on May 7 with “Superheroes” featuring Akiko Fujimoto conducting the San Francisco Symphony

SAN FRANCISCO, CA—The San Francisco Symphony’s 2021–22 Music for Familiesseries, designed to bring children together with their parents to engage with classical music through interactive themed performances, kicks off February 19 with a program titled “Music Around the World—Percussion.” The program, conducted by Resident Conductor of Engagement and Education Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, takes the audience on a trip around the world with music which specifically highlights the percussion section, including Zoltán Kodály’s Viennese Musical Clock from Háry János Suite, Bartholomew-Poyser’s arrangement of the traditional tune Hlonolofatsa Bacchanale, John Philip Sousa’s The Stars and Stripes Forever, George Gershwin’s ​Introduction from Porgy and Bess, Charles Wilcoxon’s Heating the Rudiments, Phoon Yew Tien’s​ Martial Artists Welcome Spring, Richard Strauss’ Sunrise and Introduction from Also sprach Zarathustra, Bartholomew-Poyser’s arrangement of Parang, Parang, and Alberto Ginastera’sMalambo from Estancia Suite. 

The 2021–22 Music for Families series continues April 9 with “The Planets,” featuring Wattis Foundation Music Director of the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra Daniel Stewart leading the Youth Orchestra in music from Gustav Holst’s The Planets and Jessie Montgomery’s Starburst. The final Music for Families concert of the season takes place May 7 with Akiko Fujimoto conducting the San Francisco Symphony in a program titled “Superheroes,” featuring superhero-themed music from film scores including Alan Silvestri’s The Avengers, John Williams’ Star Wars: A New Hope and Superman, and Michael Giacchino’s The Incredibles; and selections from Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, Eroica, Igor Stravinsky’s The Firebird Suite, Jean Sibelius’ Finlandia, Valerie Coleman’s Seven O’Clock Shout, and Aaron Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man

About Music for FamiliesThis popular series for Bay Area families was launched in 1993 and is designed to introduce children and their parents to the wonders of live orchestral music. Part performance and part family outing, the series consists of matinee concerts designed to spark the imagination of the whole family through an exploration of different aspects of the orchestra and its repertoire. 

Music for Families concerts are designed to be educational, engaging, and fun. They include performances of great symphonic music, fascinating musical discoveries, and informative talks about the orchestra, the instruments, the musicians, and the music. Music for Families concerts are geared to ages 5 and up. 
MUSIC FOR FAMILIESMusic for Families: Music Around the World—Percussion
Saturday, February 19, 2022 at 2pm
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser conductorSan Francisco Symphony
ZOLTÁN KODÁLY Viennese Musical Clock from Háry János Suite
TRADITIONAL (arr. Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser) Hlonolofatsa Bacchanale
JOHN PHILIP SOUSA The Stars and Stripes Forever
GEORGE GERSHWIN ​Introduction from Porgy and Bess
CHARLES WILCOXON Heating the Rudiments
PHOON YEW TIEN Martial Artists Welcome Spring
RICHARD STRAUSS Sunrise and Introduction from Also sprach Zarathustra
TRADITIONAL (arr. Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser) Parang, Parang
Ticket link:
MUSIC FOR FAMILIESMusic for Families: The Planets
Saturday, April 9, 2022 at 2pm
Daniel Stewart conductorSan Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra
GUSTAV HOLST Music from The Planets
Ticket link:
MUSIC FOR FAMILIESMusic for Families: Superheroes 
Saturday, May 7, 2022 at 2pm
Akiko Fujimoto conductorSan Francisco Symphony
ALAN SILVESTRI (arr. R. Pellett) The Avengers 
AARON COPLAND Fanfare for the Common Man
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Music from Symphony No. 3, Eroica
IGOR STRAVINSKY Infernal Dance from The Firebird Suite
JOHN WILLIAMS Leia’s Theme from Star Wars: A New Hope 
JEAN SIBELIUS Music from Finlandia
VALERIE COLEMAN Music from Seven O’Clock Shout 
JOHN WILLIAMS March from Superman
MICHAEL GIACCHINO (arr. Graham Chambers) Incredits from The Incredibles
Ticket link:


Similar Posts